Wednesday, March 7, 2007


By Princessa

Location: Western Europe, bordering the Bay of Biscay and English Channel, between Italy and Spain.
French Guinana: Northern South America, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Brazil and Suriname.
Guadelope: Caribbean, islands between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, southeast of Puerto Rico.
Martinigue: Caribbean, island between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, North of Trinidad and Tobago.
Reunion: Southern Africa, island in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar.
Population: 62,752,156
Capital: Paris.
Government Type: Republic.
Independence: Year 486.
Constitution: Adopted by referendum 28 September 1958, effective 4 October 1958; amended concerning election of president in 1962; amended to comply with provisions of 1992 E.C.
Maastricht Treaty, 1996 Amsterdam Treaty, 2000 Treaty of Nice; amended to tighten immigration laws in 1993; amended in 2000 to change the seven-year presidential term to a five-year term; amended in 2005 to make the E.U. constitutional Treaty compatible with the Constitution of France and to ensure that the decision to ratify E.U. acession treaties would be made by referendum.
Legal System: Civil law system with indigenous concepts; review of administrative but not legislative acts.
Chief Of State: President Jacques Chirac (since 17 May 1995).
Head Of Government: Prime Minister Domingue De Villepin (since 31 May 2005).
Agriculture Products: Wheat, Cereals, Sugar Beets, Potatoes, Wine Grapes, Beef, Dairy products, and Fish.
Industries: Machinery, Chemicals, Automobiles, Metallurgy, Aircraft, Electronics, Textiles, Food Processing, Tourism.

No comments: